GloriaGilbere.com

Thursday, 11 14th

Last updateMon, 13 Feb 2017 11am

 

Book Review

Chemical Cuisine is a sobering study of the non-food additives in our most common foods, the ones that are supposed to be good for us. If you are the least bit interested in the quality of what you eat, and what you feed your family, then this book is a must in your kitchen library.

Infused with Gilbère’s eclectic personality from the first page, Chemical Cuisine is an easy read full of uneasy truths about the additives in our foods, who put them there, how long they have been doing it, and who is helping them. This book deals with everything from the dangers of processed soy, aspartame and bromines, to nitrites, genetically-modified seeds and foods, to the chemical cocktails used to wash our fruits and vegetables. She also gives the read some insight into the modern meat industry in the United States.

Chemical Cuisine: Do you REALLY know what you’re eating? is the question Gloria Gilbère poses on the cover of her new book. In this day and age it is difficult to just pick up a snack and know that it is ether good, or bad, for us. It used to be easy to just pick an apple from the local grocers and know you were feeding your body well. Not so today. Modern food production in the U.S. has taken a turn for the worse and Gilbère takes this industry on full force in her new book.

Gilbère touches on food-related allergies, obesity issues as related to harmful food additives, and other food sensitivities. In the vein of Omnivore’s Dilemma, Gilbère brings humor and awareness to a difficult subject that in the end forces the reader to come to grips with the basic issues of how to eat for the health of themselves and that of their families. How to get off the merry-go-round of unhealthy eating choices and learn to choose more wisely at the grocery store, or when to leave the store out of your food planning all together.

The author does not leave us empty handed and lost in the endless maze of healthful food choices, but rather gives us tools such as understanding which fruits and vegetables have the most concentrations of additives and which have less. She points out the incredible value of the local Farmer’s Markets where excellent, fresh food choices can now be found in abundance, as the push back against food additives gains traction among informed consumers. Gilbère also exposes the role of the FDA in our food production chain and how it is that Monsanto is able to continue experiments with our food, aided by the U.S. Government, without our knowledge.

Chemical Cuisine is an authentic "health bible" for consumers... and a label-reading guide you won’t want to be without.

Reviewed by the Country Coop Newspaper